Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (2) - Games (8)

The Purple Rose of Cairo review

Posted : 2 years, 9 months ago on 26 January 2015 02:15 (A review of The Purple Rose of Cairo)

Once again, Allen brings us a sweet and complex female character in the lead role facing the adverts of a relationship.
Most of the time of during the movie we see a romantic and idealist romance between the protagonist and a fictional character from a movie the gain life out of the screen (!!!), and later, the guy who interprets the character also joins in, making it a bizarre love triangle.
The innocent love between them makes a cool and sweet romantic comedy, but this isn't one of Allen's favorite movies for nothing! The last 5 minutes of the pictures are simply superb, and show us the true complex of this fabulous work. Not only a study about romance, but also about art and the cruelty of daily life.
This isn't my favorite Woody Allen's, but definitely is one of the most complex works of him, specially thinking of how much he could pull out of a 80 minute movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Snowpiercer review

Posted : 2 years, 10 months ago on 12 January 2015 02:17 (A review of Snowpiercer)

Full of mixed feelings after watching this movie. I say this because I simply loved Joon-ho Bong's direction, he was really capable putting all the brutality typical from a South Korean movie into a Hollywood one, and I say this as a huge fan of his most famous work, Memories of Murder.

But the plot, well, the concept of a train being the last stand of humanity is just... dumb. Ok, I can get all the metaphorical implications here, but from time to time I couldn't stop myself getting my mind out of the screen to think "well, this doesn't make much sense".

About the ending? I liked it, it fits really well with the thematic of the whole movie, but than again, it just confirms how dumb is the idea to put the whole humanity inside a train.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Final Fantasy IV review

Posted : 5 years ago on 23 October 2012 06:39 (A review of Final Fantasy IV)

Wow, it's been 2 years since I last played a Final Fantasy game, and it was also a remake (Final Fantasy III).
This remake brings a very charm character design and with great voice acting, that gets your attention in every cut scene.
I didn't play the original game, so I can't tell the differences and adaptations from either versions (or even the PSOne "remake")... but I will point some detail that I found really interesting:
- The plot isn't anything out of common, in fact, it is really cliché, full of that stuff about Crystals that Final Fantasy loves. But the game is very successful when developing their characters, where everyone (even if for a small portion of the game) has the opportunity to tell their story, develop and conclude them.
- The dynamic in the party was something that I never saw before. The plot forces you every time to leave your characters behind, while having new ones, that probably will also leave you further in the game. This could be bad (not being able to construct your own party), but everything happens in an organic way and in perfect harmony with the plot, that makes you wonder what situation will take your character away, or which event will make you join forces with a new ally. Even better, some characters evolve and change drastically during the game, and yeah, I'm talking about Rydia and Cecil.

- The Augment system is really cool, but I missed almost all of them =( So, I couldn't make interesting strategies and stuff.

The rest is the typical RPG system that we all love, with nothing much to add here. I took 30 hours to conclude the game, without making 100% of all I could do (but I got all the Eidolons!), so this game is really worth the money... specially if you love playing for a second time with the New Game+ (totally not my case).

Now I look for and wait for a remake of Final Fantasy V or II for a Nintendo System =\


0 comments, Reply to this entry

No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 5 September 2012 02:26 (A review of No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle)

I'm not finished with this game yet, but I think that I'm already able to write some thoughts about it.
The first game was a good launch for a new series, even more being a bloody game, what is rare in Nintendo Wii. Unfortunaly, the game has many problems in it execution... but life is good, and the game was largely improved in the sequel!
You don't have to ride your motorcycle in the open city (dude, how I hated it in the first game), now you just have to select where you want to go from a menu. The game also has a more appeal to the Travis's nerd side: You are able to play his moe game, and even watch the opening! All the side jobs and training are now 8-bit mini-games (except for the last one), and this is really fun, nostalgic, and well done. During the story, you are able to play as other 2 characters, not a big deal, but it is cool to play with new faces.... despite the jump control of one of the characters is horrible. The plot is full of nonsense and absurd stuff, and not taking this serious is what makes the game funny.
Problems? Yeah, it still has. The lack of variety of enemies persists, and the button-mashing without a variety of controls also continue (the basics are cool, but that's all). And I felt that the bosses fights were less creative and easier than the previous game, but still are the best part.
If you liked the first game, even if it left a bitter taste in your mouth, I highly recommend playing this sequel.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 22 August 2012 06:02 (A review of The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword)

I really think that Skyward Sword was always the main objective of Nintendo when they launched the Wii. And I’m not talking about the game Skyward Sword, but about the concept, the technology, the idea and the full potential that it was able to reach with the WiiMote. You see, I felt PART of the game, using the sword, shield and the bow. I was always so amused, that I constantly stood up to fight the enemies, because I was felling that I was Link trying to save Zelda (and Hyrule, I guess). I’m glad that I was able to experience this masterpiece


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Super Mario 64 DS review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 13 August 2012 07:11 (A review of Super Mario 64 DS)

Mario games (almost) never disapoint us, and what most impress me is the ability of the game to reinvent itself in each level, a job especially well done in Mario Galaxy.
Super Mario 64 DS isn't an exception, trough 15 courses, you will find so many different challenges and puzzles that you will never get tired of the game. One thing that surprised me, is the difficult. No it isn't the hardest game in the world, but it has some challenging missions during the adventure.
Probably the coolest thing in this new version, is the add of Wario, Luigi and Yoshi as playable characters, each one with their own status and abilities. Another nice adition, is the Rec Room, with dozens of mini-games to play (many of them the same of New Super Mario Bros.)
This entry became one of my favorite Mario's game, and I'm sure it won't disapoint fans of plataforming games.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 8 August 2012 04:40 (A review of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D)

I didn't have a N64, so I never knew what was to play Ocarina of Time, and I was very glad to know that I could experience it in a 3DS.
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D makes you feel part of a big adventure and quest, makes you feel part of Hyrule, like few games can do to you. Graphicaly, the game is great, but this is not something I usually pay atention. But the soundtrack... oh man, AWESOME. It's hard nowadays to play a game that has an OST that remarks you, but here, every town, every dungeon, has a song that you will be remembering, even long after you beat the game. The controls... well, Ocarina was a revolution in it's time becaus of this, so I don't have much to add here. Finally, the 3D effect is pretty cool, but when you are in a hurry, or desperate fighting a boss (and you will), the effect makes things harder for you.

This an awesome game, and still has the Master Quest mode after you beat the game, that I didn't do yet, but sooner or later, I will revisit this vast world, and save Hyrule again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Half-Life review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 8 August 2012 03:01 (A review of Half-Life)

I never played Half-Lif in the time that it was released... and after hearing my friend telling for 2 or 3 years saying I shlould play this, I decided to give a shot. Oh boy.

I'm not a huge fan of shooter games, but this FPS was diferente from everything that I've played before. It was creep, but in the same time, was fun to shoot the scientist just to hear they screaming. Think in a FPS? Oh yeah, bosses that were more like huge action puzzles. And twists.. many of them, I never thought that my worst enemies woul be... humans (except for the last part, that is also AWESOME). And the las thing that amazed me was the "real time" story, where you don't watch things happening, but you are actually a part and a player even while the plot is developing.

I'm very grateful for Gaben to have made this game, and now I'm in panic trying to get a better PC (or console) in wich I can play the sequences. Except for Episode 3, obviously.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rhythm Heaven Fever review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 7 August 2012 05:14 (A review of Rhythm Heaven Fever)

What to say about this game? Rhythm Heaven for Nintendo DS is one of my favorite games ever, and I was really looking forward for this new entry. Basically, it is really fun (and funny!) as was the DS one. But the problem is that this game doesn't use any Wii's motion control, making it just a game where you press A or B (or both)... and this could be done in any console or handheld, making me a little disapointed with this game. But still, really enjoyful and worth to spend a few hours in it (or minutes, if you just want a quick play to relax).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pokemon Conquest review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 27 July 2012 07:46 (A review of Pokemon Conquest)

This isn't a bad game, actually, it is really enjoyful. Here, you can actually PLAY with the Pokemons, what is awesome. Another interesting fact, is that almost every Pokemon can be used until the end, what does this mean? Weak pokemons get an (almost) equal chance to be used further in the game (my Liligant and Ciccino were KILLERS).
But this game has some major flaws. For example: Almost all the trainers look the same, many trainers have the same "perfect link" Pokemon. The battles lack some dept, and is not easy to find hard challenges, or fights that obligates you to use some strategy (beyond weakness of each Pokemon)... what is a shame, because after you beat the game, you have a bunch of "sidequests" to do, where you can use the "main and rival" trainers of the game. It would be pretty cool, if the missions weren't all the same (conquer X cities). And the fact that the battles are all the same, makes this a cheap replay value.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block